Let no one despise your _________

Today I found myself thinking on a verse found in 1 Timothy 4:12.

It says, “Let no man despise thy youth; but be thou an example of the believers, in word, in conversation, in charity, in spirit, in faith, in purity.”

The reasoning for this meditation today is simple.  Yesterday I decided to “go big or go home” with my newest hair cut decision.  I have been trying to grow out my hair for about a year and I was getting tired of how “trend-less” it was looking.  So, I bit the bullet and had a fellow stylist cut one side of my hair to about an inch long and very textured over my ear, while leaving the rest long.  Gutsy, right?  Well, in so doing I have gotten much feedback.  I found that a lot of people would say, “wow, you are crazy, bold, brave for doing that!”  So, this got me thinking on that verse.  It says, don’t let anyone despise your youth.  What does that really mean?  To me, many people look down on the young for their impulsiveness, their freedom, their carefree spirit.  In doing this drastic and bold cut, I was actually embracing my youthfulness!  I want to be a woman who is free in what the Lord has given me to be.  I want to be free and bold in my actions and bold in my conversation, charity, spirit, faith and purity!  This “revelation” was very eye-opening to me.

Lord, help me to be bold, to be as a youth with my passion and creativity.  Lord, let no one despise my boldness, my passion, my faith, my creativity…my youth!

~ Crystal

Leave a Reply

