Faith Like a Child

Since the birth of our daughter 3 years ago, I have learned innumerable life lessons!  One of the most important and humbling came today on our car ride home.  As we were driving, Daliah was eating a snack I had given her.  She bit her tongue and began to cry.  As I was consoling her, while trying to keep my eyes on the traffic, she simply asked me, “Mama, can you pray for me that my tongue won’t hurt?”  Surprised and caught off guard, I quickly replied, “pray for you?  sure!”  I reached back and placed my hand on her knee and said a quick prayer for healing for her injured tongue.  Then she said something so beautiful, “it still hurts, but Jesus is going to make it feel better.”  It was in that moment that I so clearly saw what kind of faith God has asked of us.  To believe so innocently and whole-heartedly that He will answer our needs, even if it is a “little” thing like a bite on our tongue.  Once we were home, I was relating this story to my husband and Daliah said, “my tongue is all better because of Jesus“.

Today I saw how simple it truly is to believe Him at His Word.  He says that if we ask, we shall receive.  He says that He loves us with a jealous love.  He says that He has a plan for us.  He says that we were fearfully and wonderfully made.  And in this pure moment of words from my daughter’s lips, my eyes were opened to see this in operation.  And, oh, how I was humbled.

Matthew 21:16, “Out of the mouth of babes and sucklings thou hast perfected praise.”

~Crystal

Leave a Reply

